• BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBERS

     BOE Members

    The Garrison Union Free School District Board of Education consists of seven members elected by district residents at the annual election and budget vote held each May. Members elected to the Board typically serve for three-year terms. Under the New York State Education Law, the Board of Education is charged with the responsibility of establishing policies which govern the education of all children attending the district school; for preparing the annual budget; and for ensuring district adherence to state law and regulations. In addition,  the Board bears the responsibility of selecting and appointing a Superintendent to act as the Chief Executive Officer of the Board to implement the district’s policies.

    Additional responsibilities of the Board:
    · Carry out long range planning for the District
    · Approve annual goals and objectives in keeping with a long range plan
    · Collaborate with District Administration to develop and approve the annual District budget to be presented for voter approval
    · Oversee the expenditure of approved budget funds
    · Approve the appointment of all district personnel, salaries and compensation
    · Approve changes or additions in curriculum, program and services
    · Communicate with the residents of the District

    The Garrison Union Free School District Board of Education is elected by and responsive to the taxpayers of the Garrison community.  The Board welcomes questions and comments from community members and encourages its residents to attend and participate at Board of Education meetings.

    Board President, Sarah Tormey: stormey@gufs.org
    Board Vice President, Courtney McCarthy:
    cmccarthy@gufs.org
    Trustee, Jocelyn Apicello:
    japicello@gufs.org
    Trustee, David Gelber: dgelber@gufs.org
    Trustee, James Hoch:
    jhoch@gufs.org
    Trustee, Madeline Julian: mjulian@gufs.org
    Trustee, Matthew Speiser:
    mspeiser@gufs.org